31 May-4 June: Celebrating 10 years, FSM heroes - past, present and future

May 2021

Event

SNV is pleased to announce that several of our colleagues from Asia and Africa will be contributing to the FSM 6 virtual discussions from 31 May to 4 June 2021. Find out what our team of experts will be talking about, when can you access their presentations, and how can you continue the conversation with them. 

'18+ live sessions, 20 track sessions available for on-demand viewing, 40+ posters and 15 exhibitors - get ready for a full interactive and enriching experience at FSM6 this year!' - FSM 6 Organisers

The Sixth international faecal sludge management conference is organised along the theme of 'Celebrating 10 years: FSM heroes - past, present and future.' Hosted by FSM Alliance partners in Indonesia, the five-day event will feature a mix of live and pre-recorded sessions. All pre-recorded session presentations will be available in the FSM 6 virtual conference page for on-demand streaming.

Live sessions

Tuesday 1 June

  • Inclusive, sustainable FSM: towards a transformative future | 14:00 Jakarta (09:00 CET) | Presentation by Tashi Dorji and Antoinette Kome
  • Spotlight on citywide inclusive sanitation - case studies from Africa and Asia | 16:00 Jakarta (11:00 CET) | Presentation by Islam Shahidul

Wednesday 2 June

  • Is climate resilient sanitation any different to the pursuit of safely managed sanitation? |  14:00 Jakarta (09:00 CET) | Presentation by Antoinette Kome

    SNV presenters engaging with you live
    SNV presenters engaging with you live
    SNV presenters with pre-recorded sessions
    SNV presenters with pre-recorded sessions

    Pre-recorded sessions

    Mon 31 May to 4 June | Applied research track | Available for 24/7 viewing

    • Beyond the finish line - Faecal sludge management in Cambodia (Abstract) | After 2021, an estimated 2,000-3,000 household pits will need to be emptied every year. What are some factors to consider to support the Government of Cambodia and WASH stakeholders to respond to this need? | Presentation by Sunetra Lala | For more information, contact Sunetra.

    • Business model development through sludge characterisation in Kabwe, Zambia (Abstract) | In Kabwe, Zambia, 84% cannot afford to pay current service fees, but many are willing to participate in staggered emptying payment arrangements. Learn how pro-poor payment schemes may be realised. | Presentation by Moffat Tembo | For more information, contact Moffat.

    Tues 1 | Service delivery for low-income communities (19:30 Seattle | 22:30 New York | 02:30 UTC | 04:30 Rotterdam/Johannesburg | 08:00 New Delhi | 09:30 Jakarta | 12:30 Sydney)

    • Integrated Municipal Information System (IMIS): a tool for accountability, management and planning FSM services (Abstract) | Adding on to the range of tools that is making faecal sludge management services more efficient and cost-effective is IMIS. Meet IMIS in Jhenaidah, Bangladesh; a GIS-based service database that is not simply improving the management of FSM services, but is also raising the efficiency of other municipal services, including taxation systems. | Presentation by Marc Perez Casas and Shahidul Islam. | For more information, contact Marc or Shahidul.

    Wed 2 June | Indonesia track 2 - FSM operation (19:30 Seattle | 22:30 New York | 02:30 UTC | 04:30 Rotterdam/Johannesburg | 08:00 New Delhi | 09:30 Jakarta | 12:30 Sydney)

    • SNV’s experiences in on-site domestic wastewater management (in Indonesia) | With the local governments of Tasikmalaya, Bandar Lampung, and Metro, long-term SNV technical advice and advocacy is not only ensuring the prioritisation of sanitation. As well, the creation of policies and regulations that are accountable, but also adaptable to environmental changes, e.g., the COVID-19 pandemic. | Presentation by I Nyoman Suartana in Bahasa Indonesia | For more information, contact Nyoman

    Wed 2 June | Gender, equality and inclusive sanitation service level (19:30 Seattle | 22:30 New York | 02:30 UTC | 04:30 Rotterdam/Johannesburg | 08:00 New Delhi | 09:30 Jakarta | 12:30 Sydney)

    • Enlarging spaces for women sanitation workers (Abstract) | In Kasama, Zambia, local government and a utility company are challenging gender stereotypes in the male-biased construction of the emptying profession. Learn about a gender equality and social inclusion approach that is enabling WASH stakeholders to champion inclusivity in emptying service portfolio and practice. | Presentation by Mwangala Mulundano | For more information, contact Mwangala.


    In order to offer you the best website experience possible, this site places cookies on your computer. Read more about our cookie policy.